Our studio is dedicated to architecture and the built environment in a broad sense: we design buildings and objects for the everyday use, research and document architectural and spatial phenomena and are active in the teaching and communication of architecture. Our focus lies on contextual architecture, transformations as well as adaptable sustainable building structures for living and working. We are interested in tasks that don't have an obvious solution. 

 

Competences

Our core competence lies in the conception and planning of architectural projects. Our focus is on buildings for living, learning and working. We have acquired special know-how in contextual architecture and building in existing structures, more specifically in the renovation and transformation of post-war architecture. We work with private as well as commercial and public clients. Depending on the size and location of the building projects, we also accompany them during realization or work together with partner offices whose focus is on object supervision.

In the run-up to the planning and implementation phases, we also advise and support clients in the goal-setting phase within the framework of needs analyses, building documentation, profitability calculations, feasibility studies or through the creation of building rights.

In addition to the building practice, we are active in the field of architectural research and teaching through editorial and documentary projects as well as lectures, guest lectures and teaching assignments.

Team and working method

All projects are developed and closely accompanied by Alexander Fthenakis together with a familiar and experienced team of architects. Our work is characterized by our architectural position and handwriting, although the latter does not impose itself. Concept, architectural design, technical and economic planning form a unity in our work.

 

Alexander Fthenakis Dipl.–Ing. Univ. Architect BDA

Stefan Aschbichler, Dipl.–Ing. Univ. Architect

Beatrice Crescenti, MSc ETH Architect

Miriam Heilig, M.A. Architecture TUM

Felix Löschke, B.A. Architecture TUM

Savetka Miteva, Team Assistant

Daniel Rasshofer, B.A. Architecture TUM

Valentina Rossa, M.A. Architecture TUM

Alexander Fthenakis

Alexander Fthenakis has been working as an architect in the field of design and construction, research and teaching since 2007. After studying at TU Munich and ETSA Madrid, he first worked as an architect with Peter Zumthor in Haldenstein and Roger Boltshauser in Zurich. In 2008, he co-founded the Fthenakis Ropee Architektenkooperative together with Rolf Berninger and Susann Weiland to work on joint projects in the field of building transormation and educational architecture. In 2020 he founds the Fthenakis Studio for Architecture. Besides the building practice, he devotes himself to the investigation of architectural and urbanistic phaenomena as an author, among other things. 2007-2012 he worked as a research assistant for Prof. Victor López Cotelo at the Chair of Design and Preservation at the TU Munich. 2020-21 he taught experimental housing as a visiting professor at the architecture faculty of the Technical University of Munich. 

Alexander is a member of the Bavarian Chamber of Architects and the Association of German Architects (BDA). He is a pro bono board member of the Sep Ruf Society as well as of the board of trustees of the Association of Friends of the Architecture Museum of the TU Munich.

Publications

Selected writings, publications and exhibitions

 

03/2021
"Ist das ein Haus oder kann das weg?" Article by Alexander Fthenakis on the subject of dealing with post-war buildings (in: "BDA Talk - Das Debattenmagazin des BDA Bayern")

 

09/2020"Schanitown. Eine Momentaufnahme." by Alexander Fthenakis (editor), with an essay by Jonas König (160 pages, Sorry Press, Munich)

 

09/2018–01/2019
Exhibition of works by Fthenakis Ropee as part of the double exhibition "The Best Possible City" in the bunker of the Architekturgalerie München together with the artist Nicolas Grospierre

 

06/2017
„50/60/70 Architektur aus Drei Jahrzehnten im Münchner Stadtbild“ on the influence and imprint of post-war architecture in Munich (672 pages, Dölling und Galitz Verlag, Munich)

 

05/2015
„Das sind die Altbauten von morgen“ Interview with Alexander Fthenakis in the Süddeutsche Zeitung (15.05.2015)

 

07/2014
„Entwurf als Interpretation“ Essay by Alexander Fthenakis (in: „Konservieren, Interpretieren, Transformieren - Erhalten, Deuten und Wandeln von Bauten der Jahre 1950 bis 1975“, Bavarian Chamber of Architects (editor) 2014

 

07/2013
„Wider der Erosion“, Essay by Alexander Fthenakis on the subject of dealing with post-war buildings in Munich (in: „40 Jahre Denkmalschutz in München“, City of Munich (editor) 2013

 

07/2011
„Apuntes sobre Hans Döllgast“, Essay by Alexander Fthenakis on the reconstruction work of Hans Döllgast (in: „Munich“ an der Escuela Tecnica Superior de Arquitectura Madrid)

 

10/2007
„Potsdam/Berlin: Karl Friedrich Schinkel und Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, ein Führer zu ihren Bauten und Entwürfen“  Alexander Fthenakis (editor) Technical University of Munich 2007

 

04/2007
„Pharaonischer Konstruktivismus“: Article by Alexander Fthenakis on the construction of the CCTV building in Beijing by OMA (in Swiss Architects 42/2007)

Unser Studio widmet sich der Architektur und der gebauten Umwelt auf umfassende Art: wir gestalten und planen Gebäude und Gebrauchsgegenstände, erforschen und dokumentieren architektonische und räumliche Phänomene und sind in der Lehre und Vermittlung von Architektur aktiv. Unser Fokus liegt auf kontextueller Architektur, dem Bauen im Bestand sowie der Entwicklung nachhaltiger, adaptierbarer Strukturen für das Wohnen und Arbeiten. Es interessieren uns Aufgaben, bei denen die Lösung nicht auf der Hand liegt. 

 

Kompetenzen

Unsere Kernkompetenz liegt in der Konzeption und Planung von Bauprojekten. Dabei liegt unser Fokus auf Gebäuden für das Arbeiten, das Wohnen und die Bildung. Besonderes Know-How haben wir uns in der kontextbezogenen Architektur und dem Bauen im Bestand mit Schwerpunkt der Nachkriegsarchitektur angeeignet. Wir arbeiten sowohl mit privaten als auch mit gewerblichen und öffentlichen AuftraggeberInnen zusammen. Je nach Größe und Lage der Bauvorhaben begleiten wir diese bis zur Umsetzung auf der Baustelle, oder arbeiten mit Partnerbüros zusammen deren Schwerpunkt in der Objektüberwachung liegt.

Im Vorfeld der klassischen Planungs- und Realisierungsphasen beraten und unterstützen wir AuftraggeberInnen auch in der Zielfindungsphase im Rahmen von Bestandsdokumentationen, Bedarfsanalysen, Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnungen, Machbarkeitsstudien oder durch Baurechtschaffung. 

Neben der baulichen Praxis sind wir im Rahmen von publizistischen und dokumentarischen Projekten sowie Vorträgen, Gastvorlesungen und Lehraufträgen im Bereich der Architekturforschung und -lehre tätig. 

Team und Arbeitsweise

Alle Projekte werden von Alexander Fthenakis gemeinsam mit einem erfahrenen und eingespielten Team von Architektinnen und Architekten entwickelt und begleitet. Unsere Projekte sind geprägt von unserer Haltung und Handschrift, wenngleich letztere sich nicht aufdrängt. Konzeption, architektonische Gestaltung, technische und ökonomische Planung bilden in unserer Arbeit eine Einheit.

 

Alexander Fthenakis Dipl.–Ing. Univ. Architekt BDA

Stefan Aschbichler, Dipl.–Ing. Univ. Architekt

Beatrice Crescenti, MSc ETH Architektin

Miriam Heilig, M.A. Architektur TUM

Felix Löschke, B.A. Architektur TUM

Savetka Miteva, Teamassistentin

Daniel Rasshofer, B.A. Architektur TUM

Valentina Rossa, M.A. Architektur TUM

Alexander Fthenakis

Alexander Fthenakis ist seit 2007 als selbstständiger Architekt im Bereich des Planens und Bauens, der Forschung und der Lehre tätig. Nach dem Studium an der TU München und der ETSA Madrid arbeitete er zunächst als Architekt bei Peter Zumthor in Haldenstein und Roger Boltshauser in Zürich. 2008 gründete er mit Rolf Berninger und Susann Weiland die Fthenakis Ropee Architektenkooperative um an gemeinsamen Projekten im Bereich des Bauens im Bestand und der Bildungsarchitektur zu arbeiten. 2020 gründet er das Fthenakis Studio für Architektur. Neben der baulichen Praxis widmet er sich u.A. als Autor der Erforschung und Dokumentation architektonischer und städtebaulicher Phänomene. 2007—2012 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Prof. Victor López Cotelo am Lehrstuhl für Entwerfen und Denkmalpflege der TU München. 2020—21 lehrte er als Gastprofessor experimentellen Wohnungsbau an der Architekturfakultät der Technischen Universität München. 

Alexander Fthenakis ist Mitglied der Bayerischen Architektenkammer und des Bundes Deutscher Architekten (BDA). Er ist ehrenamtliches Vorstandsmitglied der Sep Ruf Gesellschaft, sowie des Kuratoriums des Freundeskreises des Architekturmuseums der TU München

Publikationen

Ausgewählte Schriften, Publikationen und Ausstellungen

 

03/2021
"Ist das ein Haus oder kann das weg?" Beitrag von Alexander Fthenakis zum Thema Umgang mit Nachkriegsbauten (erschienen in "BDA Talk - Das Debattenmagazin des BDA Bayern")

 

09/2020
"Schanitown. Eine Momentaufnahme." von Alexander Fthenakis (Hg) Mit einem Essay von Jonas König (160 Seiten, erschienen im
Sorry Press Verlag, München)

 

09/2018–01/2019
Werkschau von Fthenakis Ropee im Rahmen der Doppelausstellung „The Best Possible City“ im Bunker der Architekturgalerie München gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Nicolas Grospierre

 

06/2017
„50/60/70 Architektur aus Drei Jahrzehnten im Münchner Stadtbild“ über Einfluss und Prägung von Nachkriegsarchitektur in München (672 S., erschienen im Dölling und Galitz Verlag, München)

 

05/2015
„Das sind die Altbauten von morgen“ Interview mit Alexander Fthenakis (erschienen in der Süddeutschen Zeitung vom 15.05.2015)

 

07/2014
„Entwurf als Interpretation“ Beitrag von Alexander Fthenakis (erschienen in: „Konservieren, Interpretieren, Transformieren - Erhalten, Deuten und Wandeln von Bauten der Jahre 1950 bis 1975“, Bayerische Architektenkammer (Hrsg.) 2014

 

07/2013
„Wider der Erosion“, Beitrag von Alexander Fthenakis über den Umgang mit dem Erbe der Nachkriegsarchitektur in München (erschienen in: „40 Jahre Denkmalschutz in München“, Landeshauptstadt München (Hrsg.) 2013

 

07/2011
„Apuntes sobre Hans Döllgast“, Beitrag von Alexander Fthenakis über das Werk von Hans Döllgast (erschienen im Heft „Munich“ an der Escuela Tecnica Superior de Arquitectura Madrid)

 

10/2007
„Potsdam/Berlin: Karl Friedrich Schinkel und Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, ein Führer zu ihren Bauten und Entwürfen“ Hg./Autor Alexander Fthenakis (erschienen am Lehrstuhl für Entwerfen und Denkmalpflege)

 

04/2007
„Pharaonischer Konstruktivismus“: Artikel von Alexander Fthenakis Der Neubau der CCTV in Peking von OMA (erschienen in Swiss Architects 42/2007)